RELAX TO REFRESH

I’m the type of person who loves a schedule. I feel in control, when I see my day planned out and know that I will get all or at least most of my tasks completed by the end of the day. This can sometimes lead me to overload myself. This is especially true during the summer.

Schedule

I find that summer is a time for relaxing mentally, physically, and daily. When it’s too hot, I can’t seem to function well. I get lethargic, hot, irritable, and sometimes lazy. Although as a true New Englander, I love the change of seasons, summer can be stressful for me.

Hot sun

My schedule takes a hit on days, when the heat is over 90 degrees or when a friend comes by and says let’s go out for the day. It takes real discipline to be a virtual assistant. It takes a firm commitment to hold yourself to a schedule to get work done and find time to market/network your business.

Discipline

I think my body just demands that I take is easier in the summer and not keep a schedule. I often resist relaxing or not following my schedule, because I feel it is a weakness not to just keep going. On the other hand, I usually feel much better and refreshed, when I do take a break from my schedule.

Refreshed

A perfect example of this was the NEVA picnic last July. I wanted to go, but I knew it was a whole day event. I had to travel over an hour to get there and then find the place. After I got there, I could feel myself relax and the girls were great company. I didn’t know any of them, so I didn’t know what to expect, but they were so friendly and welcoming to me and the others.

NEVA Kayaks

I actually needed to relax and get away from work and I didn’t even realize it. By going to the picnic, I had a chance to just sit there and breathe in the clean air. I just sat there, admired the view, and spent the afternoon with some wonderful people. I didn’t have to impress them or compete with them. We were all there to relax and have a good time.

Driving around

As I drove home, I realized that I felt much better than I had in a long time and vowed to take time to relax and become refreshed more often. I think I should schedule some time each month to get out, enjoy myself, and detox from my work and all the electronics. There goes my need to schedule things!

I guess summer is a time to relax and the autumn is a time to refresh. I am planning to take an online course in September. I can’t image doing it in the summer with the heat and all of the distractions, so I will spend the rest of August relaxing and then refresh my skills in September.

Girl Relaxing

Relaxing doesn’t come easy for me, so I will have to work on it. I like to read and I like to walk, but some people say walking is not relaxing; it is work. I don’t like to just sit there under a tree sipping lemonade, but that’s exactly what I should be doing. Maybe something stronger than lemonade would help me to relax?

I’ve also noticed that my workload slows down a bit during the summer, so maybe nature is trying to tell me to relax and refresh.

How do you relax?

To learn more about my business, click on Virtual Colleague, LLC.

Leave a comment

Filed under Virtual Assistant Business

Leave a Reply

