LEARNING NEW TECHNOLOGY FOR FUN OR NEED

I feel I’m proficient in the technology I use as a virtual assistant, but there’s so much out there that I don’t know about. For example, Infusionsoft. This is something that so far none of my clients use or need. Some of my clients have other systems they use.

Infusionsoft

I’ve never used Infusionsoft, but I’m curious about it. I’ve got a busy schedule as a virtual assistant and I am also an author of Christian fiction. I’m working on my second book, so time is valuable and I have to use my time wisely.

I want to sign up for a course about Infusionsoft, but I don’t want to spend the time to learn something that I may not use and I could use that money for other things.  I’ve always said that no one should stop learning. Life is a lesson in learning, so this may be something I should do. I’ve heard so much about CRM and how it helps clients, but right now, my time is limited to doing work to meet my deadlines.

Time

http://www.feedigitalphotos.net

On the plus side, I should continue to learn just to exercise my brain. If I learn this technology, I could offer it to my clients, enhancing what I have to offer. Maybe I could use it myself for my own business, Virtual Colleague, LLC.

On the minus side, the course is expensive and it is time consuming. It lasts for 6 weeks with homework and online classes. Even if I learn this technology, my client may use another type and I may have to spend money and time to learn that one.

I guess it boils down to priorities and needs. I need to complete the existing projects by their deadlines that I’ve committed to. That a priority. I need to schedule all my tasks, so I will accomplish that goal, but I also need to do something for myself. All work and no play is no good.

Perhaps I can contact the instructor to lock in the price, even though I may not start the online course for several weeks. I don’t need any more stress, so this seems like an option. In the meantime, I will poll my clients both past and present to see if any of them are interested in using this technology. That will help me decide to take this course or maybe look into something else that my clients will use.

In the meantime, I have to research this instructor and company to make sure they’re legitimate and see if I can find the same course for less money or a better schedule. As technology continues to develop, I need to keep searching for what’s out there and what I may need. I try to forecast what skills I need, but part of that assessment has to do with my clients’ needs.

For more information on Virtual Colleague, LLC and what I can do for your business, click on www.VirtualColleagueLLC.com.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Virtual Assistant Business

Leave a Reply

