WHY CHANGE CAN BE GOOD FOR YOU AND YOUR CLIENT

Tired of the same old routine? We call get tired of repetitive tasks or adhering to the same schedule day after day, week after week. Change can be good and it may even be necessary.

As a virtual assistant, I need to stay sharp and on top of new technology. Performing tasks the same way inhibits my creativity and gives me tunnel vision, meaning I can only perform this task in this way. This is a dangerous mindset!

 www.freedigitalphotos.net

http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

You need to keep finding new and different ways to learn new things and use what you’ve learned. My clients are amazed that I always come up with at least 2 solutions to every problem and I am able to speak about those solutions in-depth. I’m not single-minded, but rather, I have the best interest of my clients at heart, so I stretch myself to learn new things and to “think” my way out of problems.

 www.freedigitalphotos.net

http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

By making an effort to keep learning something new, I am prepared to step up and give my opinion on many things that may impact any decision. I also garner respect for my can-do attitude, research skills, and knowledge of other options. I become part of the solution not part of the problem.

Just a word of caution! Change for the sake of change is NOT good! We’ve all heard the expression, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!” That may be true in some cases, but in the business world, knowledge is power and knowledge provides constant growth without making dangerous mistakes or miscalculations.

Also, true is the fact that some clients prefer their work completed in specific ways. An example of this is when a client insists that everyone uses google docs and Gmail instead of using their own preference. The client wants continuity and to streamline the work flow. While some colleagues may not want to do the project this way, the overall effect is a single method of communication.

 www.freedigitalphotos.net

http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

Change is most welcomed, when it improves efficiency, effectiveness, and provides better communication and cohesion for the project. Like the Refresh button on your computer, change can be beneficial to both clients and assistants, because it causes everyone to re-think the process and provides room to think and grow.

 Think about how you do certain things, whether it’s housework, your job, or something else in your person life.

How can you change your routine to make your life more enjoyable and still have time to do the things you enjoy most?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Virtual Assistant Business

Leave a Reply

