DO YOU BELIEVE IN OMENS IN BUSINESS?

As a Christian, I believe that God directs my life and the things in it. I was asked the other day, if I believed in omens, especially in business. My answer is not a simple one. While I do believe that things happen to us for a reason, I also believe that we can shape our own destiny by doing certain things that lead us in a particular direction.

 www.freedigitalphotos.net

http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

Here’s an example. As a virtual assistant, I specialize in writing projects, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t or won’t do other general tasks. If my client needs other tasks completed, I feel it is my responsibility to service those needs. I may not enjoy doing those tasks as much as the writing projects, but it is part of the business relationship. My client and I signed a contract and we are now colleagues.

The definition of the word “omen” is “an event regarded as a portent of good or evil”. Some people look for signs in everything they do. I may post an email or advertise and get a good feeling about it, but it takes hard work and determination to success in business. I don’t believe depending on signs and wonders is a good foundation for decision-making.

 www.freedigitalphotos.net

http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

On the other hand, you should never ignore your gut feeling about something. This happened to me about a month ago. I went out on a Saturday. I wanted to go to the lake and just relax and enjoy summer. While I was there, I got a feeling that something was not right. I didn’t know what it was and certainly nothing was wrong at the lake. It was a perfect day. When I came home, I found out why I had that sinking feeling.

Omens can be also be good ones. As in meeting someone and immediately bonding with them and then establishing a business relationship. Some people just call it good luck and don’t read too much into signs and feelings. It’s easier to deal with good omens as opposed to bad ones.

 www.freedigitalphotos.net

http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

So to answer the question, I would say that I’m cautious about “omens”, because although it may be a sign of things to come, it is no substitute for common sense, good judgment, and dealing with the facts.

 

Do you believe in omens?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Virtual Assistant Business

Leave a Reply

