Independence to Thrive

Looking back on Independence Day (July 4th), I realize how fortunate I am to live in the USA, where I can do almost anything I want to do and improve my self-worth and career. I periodically look back on how I’m doing and how I can improve my virtual assistant business, Virtual Colleague LLC.

Virtual Colleague LLC 4

It’s not enough to just review my work and my mission statement and my marketing plan. While I spent July 4th with family and friends and yes, I did eat too much and stayed up late to view the fireworks, I realized what independence means.

Most people think it means doing what you want, when you want. That’s not entirely true. It means having the flexibility to achieve new goals, while working on the things that make you happy and bring you success.

Independence doesn’t mean staying in bed all day or doing nothing. It means getting out there and finding the right balance between your working life, personal life, and fitting in some new fun, activity or learning.

I truly enjoy working as a virtual assistant, but I also find time to write fiction. I recently published my first e-book “Everyone Evelon” – a story about faith, hope, love, and Divine intervention.  Writing this book was a lifelong dream and it also motivated me to do better in my virtual assistant business.

Everyone Evelon Cover

How? I had client deadlines to meet, so I found ways to work more efficiently, so I would have some spare time to write. I accomplished my 2 goals – working as a virtual assistant and becoming an author, while remaining calm and meeting all deadlines.

Independence is what our Founding Fathers wanted from England, because they didn’t want to be dictated to. They wanted individuals to be able to accomplish what they wanted to and not be saddled with other obligations.

I feel the same way. I’m able to service my clients and their needs, while living out my dream of becoming an author. The best of both worlds.

As I sat there on July 4th by the fire pot toasting my marshmallow, I realized how lucky I am to have this freedom, but I have to use it wisely. If I get caught up in doing only what I want and not considering others, it may lead to self-destruction.

Toasting Marshmallows

Balance is the key and while I don’t always feel like working for my clients or writing a manuscript, the discipline that brings has helped me to stay focus and achieve so much more than I expected. Balance keeps me mentally and physically healthy.

Balance

Independence gives me the right to pursue my dreams and goals. I can put as much of myself into my goals as I want and the end result is always a better me, a happier client, and a satisfied reader.

What are your dreams and goals?  How did you spend Independence Day?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Virtual Assistant Business

Leave a Reply

