A Day to Celebration My Mother’s Purpose

My Mom is still with me, so every Mother’s Day is a special day for us. As I get older, I realize all he struggles and problems she faced during her life. She really wanted to be a mother and had to wait almost 6 years after her marriage to have me. She tells me she has enjoyed all of it. Even though she went without many things, so my father, sister, and I could have the things we needed.

Mom on Bench

I asked her one day how she had the strength and fortitude to go without so many things for us. She explained to me that she loved her job as wife and mother. When we were happy, she was happy and her joy was seeing that all of us had what we needed in order to succeed.

Sure, from time to time, she wanted new things too, but we were living paycheck-to-paycheck, so she had to make decisions based on need not want. I was really touched that my mother valued us and that she was able to sacrifice so much for the good of others.

This made me think about my own virtual assistant business. I sacrifice a lot of time and money to reach out to others. Whether it’s attending a networking event, fundraiser, or community event, I always clear my calendar for those events and make it a point to arrive early.

Virtual Colleague LLC 4

I put myself out at these events, so I can help my business to prosper. My virtual assistant business is like my child. I have created it, continue to nurture it, and get great satisfaction out of watching it grow and develop.

When there are problems or issues with the business, I double-down like my Mom did and try to fix them as soon as possible. I realize that I give more than the usual 40 hours per week to my business, but for me, it’s not a job, it’s a part of me.

I guess my Mom felt that way about us. She would do almost anything for us, but within reason and according to our means. She stayed up nights with us, when we were sick and always prepared healthy, balanced meals.

She had 2 heart attacks by the time I was 9 years old, but with positive thinking, she got well slowly and is still with me today at the age of 87. She once told me that positive thinking is what got her through those dark days. She was determined to get out of that bed and continue caring for her family where she left off. She was not going to settle for less.

Thinking

That positive thinking comes in handy, when business is not at the level I think it should be. Positive thinking keeps me networking and searching for new ways to improve my business.

Mom never uses the ATM and she is very tentative about pushing the buttons on the microwave, but she is mentally strong and keeps telling me that great things are possible if I work hard. Mom always had a purpose and so do I.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

