New Year, New Plan Part 2

In keeping with my commitment to learn more and do more, I looked at my LinkedIn profile. I made several changes to update it. I have been neglecting it and I need to post regularly on that site. I am working on finding new connections.

Happy Writer Face

Last night at the Crossroads Chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals, our guest speaker was Sev Ritchie, a LinkedIn expert. The timing was perfect. He went over a few things on LinkedIn, but then took time to answer questions. He gave me some great insight on LinkedIn and few ways to improve my profile and get some new clients. I can’t wait to put his suggestions into practice.

I have also neglected my Facebook page in particular my business Facebook page. I really have to schedule some time to post there and let my clients and potential clients know what I am doing and what I have to offer.  I edited both my business and personal Facebook pages and now I have to schedule time to update every week.

I’ve recently been asked to co-edit the Crossroads Chapter monthly newsletter “On Track”. I did the November issue and it was fun. I look forward to contributing my skills in future issues. I love to write, so this will help me sharpen my skills and allow me to do some research for the newsletter.

Keyboard

I’m still trying to learn to tweet. For some reason, Twitter does not come easy to me. If I read a tweet, I sometimes have difficulty understand what they’re trying to say. It seem like they just tweet the middle of their conversation. I have sent out a few tweets, but they were one-liners, so I don’t think anyone will respond or comment.  I really need to get out there and use this for my virtual assistant business, but it just seems like a waste of time. I don’t know, who will see my messages and if they will understand how I can help their businesses or even help them to manage some of their personal work.

The good news is, I have recently mastered Mail Chimp. I am so proud of this, because I had difficulty getting it to work. I tried several times and finally, I did it. It’s a great feeling to accomplish something new. I know for some virtual assistants this is like child’s play, but for someone trying to learn new things, it can be daunting.

Blogging comes very easy to me. I like to write and I’m always looking at things differently, so I can present both sides, if necessary. I need to make my blog more geared to my business, so I can increase my client base. I am presently putting together a blog schedule with a topic for each blog. In that way, I will stick to topic and stay more focused on what I have to say.

I think I need more practice with content blogging, so that’s one of the things, I will focus on. I was also thinking of taking some writing refresher courses. They have some online and they’re not too expensive, so I might give that a go before the New Year begins.

I have decided to specialize in writing projects for my virtual assistant business, but I’m not abandoning my other skills. I will still offer general administrative tasks and projects, but more about this later.

I can’t remember a time, when I’ve had such a rush of enthusiasm and such optimism for the New Year. I hope it is a good one. I think I do better in years that end in even numbers.

Let me know what you think of my blog and my choice to specialize in written projects. Any comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated. By commenting, you help me to develop my skills and make the blog better for everyone.

Next week, I will begin to discuss more about my virtual assistant business, Virtual Colleague, LLC and what services I am offering.

Thank you for following this blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Virtual Assistant Business

Leave a Reply

