New Year, New Plan

Part 1       

The holidays are almost here and as a business owner, I find myself looking ahead to next year. I am reviewing this year’s business activity, its weaknesses and strengths, its expenses and profit.

I’ve decided to get an early start on the monumental task of doing my taxes, so I’m going over my receipts as well as the spreadsheet I made to keep track of my business expenses. As I did this, I also took the opportunity to clean out my file cabinet. I love to keep pieces of paper (I know that sounds weird for a virtual assistant), but I like to have a hard copy of some of the documents.

I am also examining how I work and what it takes to get the tasks and projects completed.  I have decided to specialize in written projects. So what does this mean? It means that my marketing and promotions in the future will be geared to writing projects, but it doesn’t mean that I won’t be available to do other tasks for my clients. It’s just that I can’t be all things to all people, so I’ve decided to specialize in something that I love to do and that I’m good at. I want to give each of my clients to best possible work that I can give.

After the New Year, I will begin promoting my writing skills, but for now, I am taking care of what I already have on my plate. I have commitments that I have to fulfill, so I’m taking care of all of that first.

I will also take a serious look at my blog and try to put more oomph into it. I hope to kick it up a notch and make it more professional. That’s going to be difficult to do, because I enjoy talking about the things in my life that impress me or have changed me, but if I intend to blog professionally, then I have to settle down and get serious about my writing.

My role-model for blogging is Lorraine Reguly. She inspires me by the way she writes her blogs and how she reveals personal information about her life and how she transformed herself. Here is the link to her blog: http://lorrainemariereguly.wordpress.com.

I have also been reading “What Is Your What?” That has really got me thinking about a lot of things and the way I do them. So aside from my usual work, I have been digging deeper to find the real “me” and to discover what I do best.

Here is a list of items I need to address now and in the coming year:

  •    More attention to LinkedIn contacts and making new ones
  •    Constant updates on my Facebook Business page
  •    Staying in contact with my personal Facebook friends
  •    Learning to use Twitter
  •   Using email marketing to reach out to past, present and future clients
  •   Doing more content blogging
  •   Taking writing refresher online courses

Next week, I will discuss Part 2 of my new business plan. In that segment, I will discuss the different services I will offer and how they can benefit nearly every person. It will also allow me more time to work on a special project, but I will discuss that in Part 2.

Let me know what you think of my blog and my choice to specialize in written projects. Any comments for suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Leave a comment

Filed under Virtual Assistant Business

Leave a Reply

